Reviewing Spangles McNasty and the Fish of Gold

Utterly hilarious!!

I don’t think you need to know more than that.

Go read it, it is just so funny.

There are also raps…. pure genius!

Thank you to Anderson Press and Toppsta for my copy of this book.

61CHn5E7lNL

Advertisements

Reviewing The Misadventures of Max Crumbly: Locker Hero

I was conflicted as whether or not to read Max Crumbly, there was a deep worry that it would essentially be The Dork Diaries but with a boy in Nikki’s place and that perhaps some of the stories would just be rehashed so i was pleasantly surprised when this wasn’t actually the case!

I have been a fan of The Dork Diaries for some time and think that Rachel Renee Russel is pretty awesome so i’m really pleased that she has managed to separate the two story arcs while actually having a pretty decent ( loose) link between them.

The story itself was very engaging, so very funny and i polished it off in one sitting, only problem now is that i have to wait for the next instalment!!!

Perfect for fans of The Dork Diaries, Diary of a Wimpy Kid and anything with a decent amount of humour and plot.

Thank you to Simon and Schuster UK and Toppsta for my copy of this book.

the-misadventures-of-max-crumbly-9781471144615_hr

Caravan, Camping and Motorhome Show Day 2

We were invited to return to the Caravan, Camping and Motorhome Show on any day after the exhibition opened and as we enjoyed it so much the first time i decided to take my best friend Katie back the following Saturday.

IMG_4130

I wanted to show her all the cool things i’d tried when i filmed the promo video, i knew she’d definitely enjoy them too!

We hit the Visit Wales display first where ‘Penguin’ showed us how to make a camp fire, he was very informative and friendly. He was such a nice guy that he let us borrow the microphone…. so i decided to interview Katie! Well, why not?

02

‘Penguin’ loved my interview with Katie so much, he let me interview him too! I asked him questions about the show and how many visitors they’d had.

After learning how we could survive in the wild, we decided to take a peek at the Lego caravan- yes a caravan built entirely out of Lego!! There were a lot of people viewing it too so we didn’t really manage to get a great look but we loved the Lego themed seats arranged near it.

Here’s a picture of me and Katie pretending to be Lego people:

04

I wish i could have brought one of these home- they’d look awesome in my garden!

Next we visited the stand for Crealy: My FAVOURITE place to visit on holiday! I love going to Crealy. I love the slides, the climbing walls, the animals, the lake, the tree houses, the bridges. I used to love the mini village but they took that out- i don’t know if they ever returned it.

I think the tree houses and bridges are my favourite…. but then again i love running around the big soft play area.

IMG_4131

They have new lodges and a special meadow lands where you can stop at the park- that’s really cool and i would have booked there and then but i don’t earn money so i couldn’t!

The lodges have built in hot tubs in their decking- i’m just leaving this here for you to know.

If i didn’t live so far away i’d get an annual pass. A girl can dream.

03

Next, me and Katie decided it was time to pick the caravan we would buy. This was by far not an easy choice because all the newest and best caravans were on display. Did we want a campervan, a motorhome, a static caravan or a lodge?

After a while of going in and out of different caravans- of all shapes and sizes we finally got to the Willerby stand. FYI- our family favourite maker of caravans.

07

Willerby is running a lovely campaign at the moment, they’ve decided to help our friends the Willer-bees!!

They were giving away wild flower seeds to plant to encourage bees to come into the garden, which is good because the bee population has decreased over the years and this is bad- we NEED bees!

08

We found our perfect holiday home. It turns out that is Willerby’s Mulberry Lodge.

It is STUNNING!

I loved everything about this lodge. The layout, the colour scheme. It was very elegant and sophisticated. It was beautiful and i didn’t actually want to leave it!

So… i didn’t. At least for a little bit.

Do you like our balloon model Willer-bees?!

IMG_4132

We found the perfect spot to watch the dog agility- look at the view we have in here!

 

 

 

The Caravan Show NEC and meeting Barney Harwood

I was lucky enough to get to film a promo video for the Caravan, Camping and Motorhome Show at the NEC in Birmingham this February.

Myself and ten other children got to try out the attractions, discovery areas and demonstrations before anybody else. It was so cool!

AHPO7672

We had to be there super early when the NEC was empty of visitors which was actually really great- there weren’t a lot of people or a lot of noise!

I was super pleased to help film the promo video because i love Caravans. Like my Mummy, i’m a connoisseur of caravans! I really love them, i always look forward to seeing the new styles at the beginning of the year so i was thrilled to get a real first hand look.

megan caravan camp show

My favourite holiday home at the show was the Mulberry Lodge- it was stunning!

See the promo video below:

Not only did i get to film a video to promote the show, go an all the cool attractions before anyone else and have a total blast roaming the NEC, i also got to meet Barney Harwood!

9

That’s right. The man, the legend. Barney Harwood.

Obviously if you’ve followed my Blog or my Twitter you’ll know that i appeared on Blue Peter in 2015 after reading 365 books in 10 months aged just 5 years old. Back then Lindsey Russell came to Coventry to interview me. Last year i got to meet Radzi Chingyanganya- nicest guy ever! But meeting Barney, wow, i mean wow!! He’s basically the face of kids TV, my Mummy used to watch him, my Uncles used to watch him and now i watch him!

Megan Grace Nicholson Blue Peter Radzi Lindsey Barney

From Blue Peter to Bear Behaving Badly to Totally Doctor Who, Barney has been the face of CBBC for ages! It was a dream come true to meet him. 🙂

IMG_3945

Best of all though is that Barney knew who i was! He KNEW me! I have never felt so star stuck and completely at ease with someone as i did meeting Barney.

He came into the room full of smiles, making sure to say hello to everyone and when he spotted me he said across the room “Hello Megan!”- A-MAZE-ING! He even took a selfie of us to send to Radzi!! If i could have been melting on the floor for excitement i would have been.

He came and chatted to us for ages before and after filming the promo, he was so nice to talk to and he really made sure to learn everyone’s names, talk to them the whole time and find out who they were. He was so awesome!

IMG_3950

 

 

Why I Love Reading

One Education is running a competition called Blog 4 Books, they’ve asked kids to write about why they love reading. This is me getting to grips with a brainstorm working out exactly what i love about reading, where that love began, who helps feed that love and how that love has lead me to writing my own books.

Also it’s International Book Giving Day! 🙂 What a great day to think about why i love reading.

16715984_10158442127570105_6476239968261558771_o