Perfectly Norman

About this book:

Norman had always been perfectly normal. That was until the day he grew a pair of wings!

Norman is very surprised to have wings suddenly – and he has the most fun ever trying them out high in the sky. But then he has to go in for dinner. What will his parents think? What will everyone else think? Norman feels the safest plan is to cover his wings with a big coat.

But hiding the thing that makes you different proves tricky and upsetting. Can Norman ever truly be himself?

A poignant yet uplifting story about individuality, with stunning artwork in a striking minimal palette from the author/illustrator of Herman’s Letter. Fans of Oliver Jeffers and Benj Davies will love it.

Author: Tom Percival

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Thank you to Bloomsbury Kids for my copy.

My Review:

Perfectly Norman is a perfectly beautiful book. I think i actually love it! Perfectly Norman completely understands and projects a wonderful message- it is ok to be you!

When Norman suddenly sprouts wings he feels like he has to hide them in fear of people treating him differently, the book spends time exploring how Norman would wear a coat- rather uncomfortably- to hide these beautiful wings he doesn’t want anyone to find out about.

He ends up completely miserable because he is too hot or too restricted in the coat and comes to realise that it’s not the idea of his wings that is making him miserable but in fact the coat he is using to hide his real self.

A story about acceptance, embracing the you within you and discovering that actually you are not alone as there may be many other people experiencing the same feelings about themselves and other peoples opinions of them.

The reassuring tone of the book is beautifully executed, showing that acceptance first lies with yourself.

Themes of acceptance, friendship and individuality.

Visually stunning, the combination of colour on greyscale spreads works effortlessly with the text.

A new favourite and highly recommended. 

perfectly norman

Advertisements

Author: munchkinmegan

Megan is a prolific reader, having been reading since she was just 1 years old, Megan is never without a book in her hand or her heart. At just 5 years old Megan challenged herself to read 365 books in a year but finished in just 10 months! She has always been keen to grow her library at home and is a frequent visitor to our local library. Megan may have read 365 books in 10 months when she was a pipsqueak 5 year old but she was reading every day before that and every day since! We estimate that she is well over the 2000 book mark and nothing is slowing her down yet! She is a keen supporter of literacy and authors alike. Now she is older she hopes to give her reading challenge a boost by reading at least twice as many books in a year. Megan generally reads several times a day and as her parents we are read out a lot of passages from books!! :-) Megan is a keen reviewer and has decided to share her journey through books with other book minded people. She is also a member of a chatterbooks group where she is given a book (or 3) to read and review for the next gathering. She is confident in her approach to what she has read, what she likes and dislikes, and she has no problem expressing those feelings with other booklovers.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s