RHS Wisley- Back to Nature Garden

Hello everyone! Long time no see. I wish my computer was working, I’ve been missing you guys and rambling online.

I had a wonderful time at the Back to Nature Festival at RHS Wisley yesterday.

I’ve got so much to share with you but while I recover after such a busy day here’s a picture of me in one of the super cool new additions at Wisley.

megan g grace nicholson. munchkinmeggie. munchkin megan. blue peter. rhs. wisley. duchess of cambridge. kate middleton. back to nature garden.

Check back next week when I can tell you all about what I got up to at Wisley and who I was with…

You Can’t Make Me Go To Witch School by Em Lynas, illustrated by Jamie Littler

Read what competition winner Miss Cleveland thought of You Can’t Make Me Go To Witch School.

Miss Cleveland is reading...

68402908-95DA-42B8-93BD-E899F167BC0F
It’s Daisy Wart’s 11th Birthday, and instead of Granny taking her for a birthday treat, she’s stood outside a crumbling building. Granny is convinced she’s a witch, but Daisy is adamant she isn’t. For Daisy is a Shakespearean actress, preparing to show the world her Bottom just two nights hence. With the headmistress ignoring her, Daisy is enrolled into Witch School where she will stay until her 18th birthday. Daisy must find a way to escape if she is ever to win her Oscar.

A fabulously funny, fast-paced read, packed with quirky characters and one-liners. Daisy and her new school friends all have unique voices, and their individuality shines through. Jamie Littler’s illustrations capture the budding actress in all her glory, bringing Em Lynas’s hilarious new heroine, and surroundings to life. This is a book that begs to be read aloud! I can’t wait for more from Toadspit Towers, but…

View original post 47 more words

Perfectly Norman

About this book:

Norman had always been perfectly normal. That was until the day he grew a pair of wings!

Norman is very surprised to have wings suddenly – and he has the most fun ever trying them out high in the sky. But then he has to go in for dinner. What will his parents think? What will everyone else think? Norman feels the safest plan is to cover his wings with a big coat.

But hiding the thing that makes you different proves tricky and upsetting. Can Norman ever truly be himself?

A poignant yet uplifting story about individuality, with stunning artwork in a striking minimal palette from the author/illustrator of Herman’s Letter. Fans of Oliver Jeffers and Benj Davies will love it.

Author: Tom Percival

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Thank you to Bloomsbury Kids for my copy.

My Review:

Perfectly Norman is a perfectly beautiful book. I think i actually love it! Perfectly Norman completely understands and projects a wonderful message- it is ok to be you!

When Norman suddenly sprouts wings he feels like he has to hide them in fear of people treating him differently, the book spends time exploring how Norman would wear a coat- rather uncomfortably- to hide these beautiful wings he doesn’t want anyone to find out about.

He ends up completely miserable because he is too hot or too restricted in the coat and comes to realise that it’s not the idea of his wings that is making him miserable but in fact the coat he is using to hide his real self.

A story about acceptance, embracing the you within you and discovering that actually you are not alone as there may be many other people experiencing the same feelings about themselves and other peoples opinions of them.

The reassuring tone of the book is beautifully executed, showing that acceptance first lies with yourself.

Themes of acceptance, friendship and individuality.

Visually stunning, the combination of colour on greyscale spreads works effortlessly with the text.

A new favourite and highly recommended. 

perfectly norman

National Young Writers’ Awards

I recently entered Explore Learning‘s National Young Writers’ Awards writing competition.

This years theme is The Future. I thought it sounded like a great theme and decided to approach it from a unique angle.

I opted to write about an interplanetary explorer who visits a place called Kross Krone- a planet inhabited by upright alien cats who fell in love with 21st century Earth. That way i could compare their planet (Earth now) with the Earth my interplanetary explorer is from.

Read my story below:

Untitled by Megan Grace Nicholson

Space Craft- The Mae Jemison
Earth Date- 3017
Ship’s Log.

There have been 18 new planets similar to Earth discovered just outside our Solar System, well that’s if you’d call 39 light years away ‘just outside’.

In days gone by, travelling to these places seemed unattainable but over the last millennium advancements in Science have placed these planets within our reach.

I am Margaret Mackintosh, ‘Mac’ to my comrades and i am an interplanetary explorer.

Despite the convenience of teleportation, my crew and i are hurtling through space to Kross Krone, a planet inhabited solely by a species of upright alien cats. They forbid the use of teleportation.

The species, known as Kwarbles developed an obsession with Earth during the early 21st Century. Since then they have spent all their time and resources turning Kross Krone into a replica of our beloved planet a thousand years ago.

Where our planet was forced to create synthetic water after the population boom of 2361, their planet is still thriving from their own rivers and lakes. Where all our pavements have become eco turfs, they are happy to use paving slabs- it truly is a sight to behold! Kross Krone houses many livestock and crops, something that hasn’t been done on our land for years. Our meat is harvested from cloned animals, we only ever grow the parts we require as we are no longer a wasteful society. Our crop is much the same although growth is monitored entirely by machines, human like robots known as Ersatz.

Kwarbles scavenged all our old electronics such as PC computers because mankind had developed biotic systems that synced with our own electronic impulses. The cats type out words to send messages to each other, it’s simply archaic but fascinating! They travel in cars much like our own but without the use of smart roads to keep them the correct distance or speed, they control this.. themselves!

The people of Kross Krone fell in love with many of our native animals and have spent years helping them thrive on their own planet. Due to their vast oceans, only a fraction smaller than Earths, they have been able to rehouse many of the beloved sea creatures we believed to have died out years ago.

Although the Kwarbles dislike modern technology, this passion for Earth’s animals has lead them to request cloning technology for long since extinct creatures such as dinosaurs which they would propagate on their sister planet Pterodore.

***

Uncharted Territory. 2020

In deep space a lost probe has encountered a black hole.

***

N.A.S.A 2020

Beep. Beep. Beep. Beep.

“Sir, there is a message coming through. Columbus II has picked up a radio signal”

500 Words

I was really pleased to find out that my story made it through the first round of 500 words! What an incredible achievement!

I didn’t make it through to the top 50 but i’m so happy to be in the mix with the best 5000 that i don’t think it really matters, plus there is always next year!!

18403999_10158868712695105_4967884872658123038_o

My 500 Word Entry: Night Terror 

My breath caught in my throat, i could hear it again. That raspy, shallow breathing. I knew it wasn’t my parents or my little brother- they had gone away for the night. I was all alone in the house.

I was completely frozen in fear, i could feel myself getting hotter beneath the covers and now i desperately needed to scratch my ankle but i couldn’t, daren’t move.

If i move, it might see me. It can’t see me under the covers… can it?

I’ve heard the breathing every night now for over a month but up until this moment i thought it had been my brother messing around. Not anymore.

I finally muster enough courage to shift my body, i flex my foot as if it were an involuntary movement in my sleep. It lands against something solid. I could feel something, someone sitting at the bottom of my bed. I couldn’t help but let out a gasp.

A wash of white heat radiated down my spine, i could hear it right beside my ear now and knew my gasp have moved it closer to my face. Was it watching me?

“Is that it? Is that all she wrote?”

Molly stared at the bottom of the bed expecting to see something, anything. She clung tightly to the old journal she had been reading.

A hand etched upwards between the wall and the mattress, it’s rotting fingers walking, inching their way towards Molly. It’s broken, chipped nails snagging on the fabric.

With an intense internal shiver Molly leapt from the bed causing the hand to retreat from whence it came.

“I’m not staying here!” Molly declared as if to whatever entity was occupying the room and threw the journal onto the bed before making a start for the door.

The journal dropped silently beneath the bed frame where the darkness consumed it.

18320774_10158868771860105_335703199029647196_o

Reading Zone’s Picture Book Competition- making my book

I’m finally at the making stage of my book for Reading Zone’s Picture Book competition. It’s been so a long road but i can’t believe that i’m nearly at the end.

I went to Staples- now Office Outlet to print out my pages. The copier was having a hard time printing them out properly, i think that the loading area was off centre!

The assistant behind the desk ended up taking my USB and doing them directly from there. They all ended up with a slight border round them which i’m having to cut off- a small price to pay for having them printed central!

18121603_10158802498195105_2307113967667886864_o

It’s been lots of fun cutting out all the pages- although i’m left handed so this can sometimes be a bit of a chore!

18077036_10158797654420105_232483219899589199_o

It took me a couple of days to get everything cut out and stuck together but it was well worth it! I think it looks brilliant now that it’s all put together. 🙂

IMG_5041

If i don’t win the competition- i’m in it for the experience really so it doesn’t matter if i don’t, do you think i should try and publish my book instead? Would you buy it?